Gaithersburg Police Department

Gaithersburg Police Department

The Gaithersburg Police Department safeguards the lives of those within the City, enforces the laws and ordinances of the State of Maryland and the City of Gaithersburg, protects property, maintains the safe and orderly flow of traffic, and assists in securing, for all persons, equal protection of the law.

The Gaithersburg Police Department is a nationally-accredited law enforcement agency that shares responsibility for services with the Montgomery County Police, providing coverage 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. The Department responds to calls for service as necessary, and utilizes community action teams, when appropriate, to solve problems and deal with issues affecting the safety of all City neighborhoods.

The Gaithersburg Police Department consists of three bureaus:

  • The Administrative Bureau is comprised of the accreditation manager and the civilian office staff.

  • The Operations Bureau is comprised of the six shifts of officers that provide around-the-clock response to calls for service which may originate from the Montgomery County Communications Center or the City Police station.

  • The Special Operations Bureau is comprised of the Community Services Office, Criminal Investigative Unit, Street Crimes Unit, and Traffic Enforcement Unit.

Gaithersburg Police are active in the community and dedicated to providing quality services in a timely and efficient manner. The Department also provides philanthropic support to the community through charity fundraisers, participating in community meetings, providing lectures and other services such as security surveys and more.