Parks, Recreation and Culture

Activity Center at Bohrer Park

The Department of Parks, Recreation and Culture provides quality parks, well-planned sustainable facilities, and diverse cultural, artistic and recreational opportunities and interests to promote the health and well-being of residents and visitors.

Gaithersburg’s parks and recreation system began in 1970 with three parks – Civic Center (now Griffith Park), Duvall Park and Lee Street Park (now Constitution Gardens) – and a total of nine acres. Today, the City has 25 parks and nine recreation facilities that cover 854 acres. On City-owned grounds there are athletic fields, aquatic centers, meeting and class facilities, gymnasiums, fitness facilities, miniature golf, an outdoor performance pavilion, trails, and natural areas. A full range of classes, sports programs, youth activities, cultural art performances, and special events take place at these and other facilities throughout the City.

The Department is divided into four divisions. The Arts and Special Events Division produces large celebrations and neighborhood events and promotes a climate in which artistic expression and creative excellence can flourish. The Recreation and Parks Services Division provides active and passive parkland, preserves green space, and encourages residents of all ages to get out and play through organized sports and recreation programs. The Facilities and Administration Division provides the Department with resources and support and provides individuals and organizations with affordable, well-maintained facilities for functions. The Youth and Senior Services Division provides activities that promote positive youth development and encourage seniors to be active and independent.