Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Explore and read the top news stories in Gaithersburg. View archived press releases here.

City Presents Employee & Team of the Year Awards

Awards presented to Emilio Curbelo and Administrative Support Team at City's annual employee recognition luncheon.
Post Date:03/29/2019 3:00 PM

At the City’s annual employee recognition luncheon on March 28, 2019, Mayor Jud Ashman, Council Members Michael A. Sesma and Ryan Spiegel, and City Manager Tony Tomasello presented the 2018 City of Gaithersburg Carl Webb Employee of the Year Award to Emilio Curbelo and the Team of the Year Award to the Planning & Code Administrative Support Team. They were selected from a pool of quarterly winners reviewed by the City’s Employee Recognition Committee, which is made up of peers from each department.

The event also recognized employees for service milestones. Facilities & Administrative Services Division Chief Terrilyn Lahs with Parks, Recreation and Culture, Police Sergeant Randell Rude with the Police Department, and Site Development Coordinator Gregory Ryberg with the Department of Planning and Code Administration were recognized for 30 years of service. Senior Mechanic II Daniel Horton with the Department of Public Works was recognized for 25 years of service.

The 2018 Carl Webb Employee of the Year Award, named for a former Public Works employee who exemplified the ideals of hard work, integrity, honesty, and enthusiasm, was presented to Emilio Curbelo, Code Administration Officer II with the Department of Planning and Code Administration. Emilio was recognized for his exemplary work performance and assisting his team and others without hesitation. For example, after hearing staff struggle to communicate with a City resident over the phone, Emilio jumped in to assist and provided Spanish translation to the customer. With his assistance, the resident’s problem was solved quickly. It was noted that through actions such as this, Emilio’s dedication and compassion to the City of Gaithersburg and its residents is apparent.

The Team of the Year award was presented to the Planning & Code Administrative Support Team, comprised of Jennifer Armour, Bobbi Fulmer, Myriam Gonzalez, Maryzeil Moore, Sheila Oliver, Keith Pumphrey, and Gretchen Wyrick. The Team was recognized for its excellent work assisting residents, visitors and City staff. This group of individuals provides friendly, helpful and professional support to the Planning and Code Department, from assisting with permits and citations to providing support to fellow staff members from all City departments. Serving on the frontline, the Team welcomes everyone who comes through the doors of City Hall in a courteous and patient manner, often going above and beyond to offer expertise and assistance. “I have experienced many jurisdictional front desks in my previous career. Ours is by far the most helpful and happiest,” says a coworker. "This Team is one of the most incredible in the City.”

For more information on the awards program, please contact the Office of the City Manager.

Return to full list >>