The Gaithersburg Railroad Station was a major rail complex at the time it was built in 1884, and in 1978, its buildings were placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Today it still serves as a central focus in the City’s Olde Towne district.
History Park is nestled between the Train Station and Freight House and features plaques with historical photographs and information on the City’s history and development. Plantings in the park include some of the original peonies from the Schwartz family garden. The Schwartz family once owned the home that now serves as our City Hall.
The rolling stock exhibit, or trains, in the yard just outside the Freight House currently features a 1918 Buffalo Creek and Gauley #14 Steam Locomotive, a 1950s Budd Car and a C&O Railroad Bay Window Caboose. Both the Caboose and Budd Car feature exhibits that explore the role of cabooses in the past, the significance of the B&O to Gaithersburg, and the B&O dining experience.