City COVID-19 Notices
Phase 2 reopening begins week of July 6.
      • Notices, Closure & Cancellation Information (updated 7/10/2020 1:33 p.m.)
      • Emergency Assistance, Resources & Volunteer Opportunities (updated 7/10/2020 1:30 p.m.)

Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

While some facilities are open for walk-in service and several recreational facilities have reopened and select programming has resumed as of July 6, public meetings continue to be held virtually by teleconference online and by phone. Click here for more information.

Planning Commision

Commissioners Danny Windborne, Lloyd Kaufman, Alternate Sharon Cantrell, Mathew Hopkins, Vice Chair Phillip Wessel, Chair John Bauer

The Planning Commission directs the growth and development of the City by reviewing all annexation requests, zoning applications, subdivision plats, development review plans, applications and plans for municipal improvements.

Many of these processes are done in conjunction with the Mayor & City Council. The Planning Commission frequently attends Joint Public Hearings & Work Sessions with the Mayor & City Council on current development and long range planning issues. The Commission is supported by the Planning Division of the Department of Planning & Code Administration.

Powers and duties of the Planning Commission are outlined in the City’s Zoning Ordinance, which is in Chapter 24 of the City Code. Additionally, the Planning Commission authority and duties are regulated by the State of Maryland in the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

The Planning Commission consists of five members and one alternate. Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council to serve five-year terms; the members may be reappointed.

Meetings are generally the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of the month at 7:30 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers.