City COVID-19 Notices
Phase 2 reopening begins week of July 6.
      • Notices, Closure & Cancellation Information (updated 7/10/2020 1:33 p.m.)
      • Emergency Assistance, Resources & Volunteer Opportunities (updated 7/10/2020 1:30 p.m.)

Safe Speed Program

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

safe_speedJurisdictions within Montgomery County were granted the authority to operate cameras as part of the Safe Speed Program by the State of Maryland in 2006. The pilot program authorizes the use of the cameras in residential and school zones with speed limits of 35 miles per hour or less, and requires that money from speed camera fines be designated for public safety programs.

The goal of the Safe Speed program is to reduce speeding on residential streets and streets near schools in an effort to prevent injuries and fatalities among pedestrians and motorists. The cameras are an additional tool available to police in speed enforcement. Officers will continue to enforce speed limits using other techniques such as hand-held radar or laser. For more information contact the Gaithersburg Police Department.

The following is a list of locations identified for speed camera use in the City of Gaithersburg. Additional sites will be added in the future.

  • South Frederick Avenue (Both directions)
  • Diamond Drive
  • Marquis Drive
  • North Summit Avenue
  • Quince Orchard Blvd.
  • Quince Orchard Road
  • Watkins Mill Road
  • West Deer Park Road
  • Christopher Avenue
  • Clopper Road (Both directions)
  • Girard Street (Both directions)